Who holds official authority in Taiwan at present?

Travel Destinations

By Omar Perez

Taiwan is a democratic country located in East Asia. It has a complex political system that reflects its history of colonization, authoritarian rule, and democratization. The government of Taiwan is based on the constitution of the Republic of China, which was adopted in 1947. This article will provide an overview of who holds official authority in Taiwan at present.

The President of Taiwan

The President of Taiwan is the head of state and government. The president is elected by popular vote for a four-year term and can serve up to two terms. The current president is Tsai Ing-wen, who was re-elected in 2020. The president has the power to appoint the premier, who is the head of the Executive Yuan, and the vice president, who serves as the president’s deputy.

The Executive Yuan

The Executive Yuan is the highest administrative body in Taiwan. It is responsible for implementing the policies and laws passed by the Legislative Yuan. The premier, who is appointed by the president, leads the Executive Yuan. The Executive Yuan consists of various ministries and agencies, each responsible for a specific area of governance.

The Legislative Yuan

The Legislative Yuan is Taiwan’s unicameral legislature. It has 113 members who are elected by popular vote for a four-year term. The Legislative Yuan is responsible for passing laws, approving the budget, and supervising the Executive Yuan. The speaker, who is elected by the members, leads the Legislative Yuan.

The Judicial Yuan

The Judicial Yuan is Taiwan’s highest judicial authority. It is responsible for interpreting the constitution and laws, as well as adjudicating disputes. The Judicial Yuan consists of various courts, including the Constitutional Court, the Supreme Court, and the Administrative Court. The president of the Judicial Yuan, who is appointed by the president, leads the Judicial Yuan.

The Control Yuan

The Control Yuan is Taiwan’s highest supervisory authority. It is responsible for overseeing the conduct of public officials and institutions. The Control Yuan has the power to investigate complaints, impeach officials, and audit government agencies. The president of the Control Yuan, who is appointed by the president, leads the Control Yuan.

The Examination Yuan

The Examination Yuan is responsible for overseeing the civil service system in Taiwan. It is responsible for recruiting, training, and promoting civil servants. The president of the Examination Yuan, who is appointed by the president, leads the Examination Yuan.

Local Governments

Taiwan has 22 local governments, including six special municipalities, 13 counties, and three cities. Each local government has its own elected officials and administrative bodies, responsible for providing public services and implementing local policies.

The Military

The military of Taiwan is responsible for national defense. It consists of the Army, Navy, Air Force, and other specialized units. The president is the commander-in-chief of the military.

The National Security Council

The National Security Council is responsible for advising the president on national security matters. It is comprised of the president, vice president, premier, ministers of defense, foreign affairs, and other key officials.

The National Police Agency

The National Police Agency is responsible for maintaining public order and enforcing the law. It operates under the supervision of the Ministry of the Interior.

The Central Bank of the Republic of China

The Central Bank of the Republic of China is responsible for maintaining financial stability and regulating the country’s monetary policy. It operates independently of the government and is headed by the governor, who is appointed by the president.

In conclusion, Taiwan’s political system is complex and reflects the country’s history and democratic development. The president, Executive Yuan, Legislative Yuan, Judicial Yuan, Control Yuan, Examination Yuan, local governments, military, National Security Council, National Police Agency, and Central Bank all hold official authority in Taiwan at present.

Photo of author

Omar Perez

Omar Perez, a Caribbean correspondent at TravelAsker, is a skilled writer with a degree from Florida International University. He has published in prestigious outlets like The Miami Herald, Orlando Weekly, Miami Daily Business Review, and various New Times editions. He has also worked as a stringer for The New York Times in Miami, combining his love for travel and storytelling to vividly depict the Caribbean's charm.

Leave a Comment